What is a common commission structure. New Salesman here

Hello all!! I just started as a salesman selling roofs. My commission structure is 10% off the top. There are basically no company leads so it’s going to be self generated leads. Is this a standard starting commission for no company leads? I’m new to roofing but have had 15 years in sales. I know I’ll do well but I’m curious as to how this commission structure stacks up. Thanks in advance for your answers!!

0 Likes

That’s reasonable. I’d say the most common commission structure in roofing sales is a 10/50/50 profit split. Where are you located? Is this for retail or insurance sales?

0 Likes

There are several things that may have to be considered in designing a commission structure. Most beginners will receive a 10% commission until they prove their ability. That ability ensures that the profit margin on sales is 30%, so you are essentially receiving 1/3 of the profit.

Most owners want to see you can produce this at a minimum, but after you establish sales that consistently produce a 35% or better profit margin, then you could approach the owner and ask for 1/3 of the profit. Your argument would be that you are a great producer exceeding the normal profit margin. Also keep in mind that if your sales consistently produce a 25% to 28% profit, an owner may just reduce your commissions by keeping the first 20% for himself and only paying you the remainder as an incentive to keep your profit margins up and not give a way the farm just to get a sale.