Tear off or shingle over old shingles

I am getting bids on reroofing an 8/12, 200 square assisted living because the 6 year old IKO 3 tabs are cracking and did not seal well. They are pretty flat and it is my amateur opinion that going over the top of them with a heavy architectural shingle would be less expensive and of equal quality. But I am only a dangerous amateur so I would like the opinion and reasoning of some pros without a financial stake in the project.

some pics of the IKO’s just for fun

Tear them off, they will continue to deteriorate under the new shingles.

That particular shingle is a bad product and should be avoided.

some of those cracks might be caused by plywood movement…make sure all the joints have an 1/8" gap for expansion. But then agan…maybe not :?

I do a lot of nail overs but this one sends up red flags, I haven’t seen many roofs like this and we usually tear them off when the manufactuer and warranty is involved.

Bottom line, you either pay now or someone will pay more later for a 2-layer tear off. If the shingles weren’t splitting and /or cracking , I would say yes on a nail over. I don’t think I would put my name on that roof without tearing it off to the deck, inspecting the decking , and checking for proper ventilation.

allrite go ahead and but n run another layer of
3tab un there if you must.
make sure you use 1.5" roofing nails.

gweedo.

Hi,

Do not go over IKO’s.

Maybe you can fix what is bad and get another year or two out of the shingles. This way you can budget for a tear off.

I would consider pursuing a manufacturer’s defect claim on this matter. There’s no way that shingles should be cracking and splitting like that.

It is probably wise to spend a little bit of money for a structural engineer or someone who is independent and an expert in roofing. Normally, an engineer’s opinion will hold more weight.

They should provide to you a written expert’s opinion report.