Shingles on less than 10 degree slope

I have a dormer roof (10 degree slope) that goes into a covered deck (6 degree slope). It’s new construction and I was fully prepared to get torch on roofing. I’m in the process of getting quotes and three roofers have told me they would shingle that roof. Does that sound right? I thought u need at least 15 degrees for shingles?!

Well, now you have 3 you can take off your list to do your roof. 14 degrees minimum and I prefer a 4 pitch, 18 degrees. You may not need torchdown but shingles are not the answer.

Who designed the roof with those sort of pitches?

2 Likes

Ha my husband did. :woman_facepalming:
What other option would u consider if not torchdown?

There are many factors involved. Where are you located, elevation, how much distance between eave and ridge, type of shingle. There have been three tab roofs installed on those pitches under certain conditions that worked fine, even before ice/water shield was commonly used. We have done many porch roofs in Southern Oregon over ice/water shield that have been doing great for 20 years. Malarkey shingles have tapered their shingles well for low slope roofs but I still wouldn’t use them on a 25’ run.

I just tore off a Landmark roof I put on 23 yrs ago.

A small part ( about 5 sq) of it was 3/12 that I shingled, there were a few spots were the nails were starting to rust but it was otherwise in good condition.

This has a 10/12 dumping onto it.

The roofer needs to pay extra attention to what he is doing and needs to make a bigger lap and even a shorter exposure.

I’m on the east site of Houston. So hurricane force winds are definitely possible as well as lots of rain throughout the year.
The roof is 32’ wide and 36’ from ridge to eave. The upper 20’ have the 9-10 degree slope, bottom 16’ only 6 degree. It’s a second story roof.

I’d recommend a PVC roof with a shingle pattern on it.

I’ve never heard of a PVC roof. What manufacturer makes those?