Roof Leak in Heavy Rain

Hi Guys, I’m a HVAC contractor and definitely do not deal with roofs on a day to day other than walking on them. I noticed a water stain in my kitchen ceiling this week about the size of a softball, not wet to the touch.

Looked in the attic and saw signs of water on a rafter and sheating directly above the stain about halfway up the roof. Dark and White staining at the top of the rafter sides. Looked at my roof and all looks good from a novice perspective. What I did notice is right where the rafter water marks start in the attic is where my gutter from my hip roof drains unto my gable roof (split level house). So am I crazy to think that with heavy rain the water is coming out of this gutter and getting under the shingles? All my vent boots look good. 30 years arch shingles 9 year old roof with new sheating installed as needed (No shingles under the new shingles).

This is probably the most common leak area on many roofs. You have a step shingle run, valley and gutter all converging. If the gutter guy didn’t round out the drainage point the little bit of leaves visible in the picture will push water into areas it’s not supposed to be. I prefer capping these open ended gutters and sloping them towards the downspout so water doesn’t drain onto the roof at that point. There is a downspout 12 feet away so there is no reason to push water into that area.

Also after enlarging picture I notice that pipe collar is cratered in. This will also be a potential leak.