Rolling new asphalt over damaged section on flat roof

Hi everyone: Newbie here, and just handy enough to get myself in trouble. My wife and I rent an apartment where we have access to a flat asphalt roof. We wanted to be able to sit comfortably up there and have some light outdoor furniture, especially since we’re working from home during the pandemic. A roofer who was doing some work on the building suggested those wooden IKEA deck tiles that snap together. We got some, put them down, but it didn’t occur to me I should use any kind of underlayment. After two days light use I repositioned a tile and noticed that the hard plastic grid on the underside of the tile had dug down into the asphalt on a relatively small section of the roof, leaving regular 1/4" depressions that are maybe 1/8" deep. It hasn’t caused the roof to leak as far as I can tell but I don’t trust it going forward.Needless to say I removed the IKEA tile as a poor idea.

My question: can I just roll out new asphalt over the damaged section (which is approximately 4’x 8’) and use adhesive to cover up the scarred asphalt? Is this a kind of job I could do myself?

Thanks for any advice

1 Like

No. If you want to put the Ikea tile back on, buy a 1/2" asphalt protection board and put it under the tile. That will protect the roofing membrane. Keep in mind that the asphalt roof IS NOT a walking deck!