Radiant Barrier?

I am bidding a job in s.w. florida. The job is 5:12 with 30 yr. gaf shingles. The H.O. is requesting installation of a “radiant barrier”. The H.O. wishes to reduce energy costs.

I have no knowledge of a product that can be installed on the outside of the roof deck during the re-roof process that would achieve this H.O. goal.
Proper attic venting has already been discussed, however the H.O. wants more.

Any ideas,
Thanks,

James

I think radiant barriers go underneath the sheathing. Basically it is going to be an attic install job. I haven’t heard of anything that goes on top of the roof deck. You can also install them on top of the attic insulation. In my area, they just spray the trusses and sheathing with a special paint. I think it is an aluminum paint, but I could be mistaken.

There are various types of radiant barriers (outside of a ReflecTix or AlumaShield type OSB that has a super thin layer of tin foil like product on it; this is used for your decking).

If someone wanted to maximum insuation, it would go like this:

–OSB with ReflecTech / Reflectix / SolarBond type film on it (note: alum. film goes DOWN, or to the attic side, NOT up).

• *Optional: Ventilated OSB decking with solar filmed underside & vented spacer strips to allow air circulation.
    http://atlasroofing.methodfactory.com/img/SiteContent/crossvent_rb.jpg
    –Radiosity type product sprayed on the UNDERSIDE of the OSB or decking.
    –Foamular sheets tacked from underneath to the OSB or decking.
    –Insulation batts stapled in between the trusses to the underside of the decking (R 19 @ a minimum).
    –A layer of a bubble packing type product that has an aluminum foil facing on both sides of the product.

& That would be a “balls to the wall” type installation, IMO. Very time consuming but very (VERY) energy efficient.