Problem with new roof - it's melting!

Hi

I am a newbie on here… so ‘hello’!

I need a bit of help - and some advice would be appreciated.

I have a roof that is also used as a deck. It had a thick plywood base, with numerous layers of roofing roll on it (the asphalt with gravel on it kind). I was careful with furniture and it was doing okay, with little surface damage despite years of robust use. For various reasons (animals trapped in roof, it leaked around skylights etc), I have had it replaced.

Contractor knew that I used it as a deck, and we discussed that we would need to put pads on the feet of furniture and avoid wearing heels on it. My longer term plan is to place a kind of floating deck on it.

However, two weeks after it has been laid, the tar is starting to melt. I walked across the roof, and have left footprints where the grit has now just been pushed aside leaving just black gooey footprint patches. I live in California, it’s 82 degrees today, but will get hotter as summer starts.

I have had numerous problems with the contractors anyway… but can anyone advise if this is a product defect, a cheap and unsuitable product has been used, or if it’s to be expected and now have an unusable space and will never again be able to access my washing machine?

Any advice appreciated. Roofing contractor treats me like a stupid child at the best of times - and is really intimidating…

Thanks for any help…

The asphalt-tar based materials that your contractor used are not the most appropriate ones for a walkable surface. Obviously, as you surmised, their treatment of you as a customer is not acceptable, and they really dont have the experience necessary for this type of application.

Your fears are correct… as the temps warm up this summer, the situation will get worse, and soon you will be tracking goey tar into the house and getting it all over.