Organic shingles?

The adjuster claimed these were 25 year shingles but I’m fairly certain he is full of it.

They are double layered, large 2 tab. I’m told they are organic.

I’m a general contractor but I’m newer to the insurance claim business, so I’m not sure how exactly to handle this. I called it in after my guys brought it to my attention. The adjuster in charge of the claim is sending someone back out to take a look at the shingle and test the siding for asbestos. The dumpster is a gone But I have shingles that were removed from the dumpster, with pictures of the shingles on the roof, in the dumpster, and being removed.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this type of shingle before? Does this look like a 50 yr shingle?

If it is, my question would be what is the best way to supplement for this price difference?

Owens Corning duration shingles were installed as replacements.

Any input would be greatly appreciated

image image image image

What is the question? Is it organic? I don’t know if that is the question.

Apologies, I edited the post to be more direct.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this type of shingle before? Does this look like a 50 yr shingle?

If it is, my question would be what is the best way to supplement for this price difference?

Owens Corning duration shingles were already installed as replacements.

That shingle is before my time.
Old!
A two-tab design laminated on the exposure.
It wasnt a 20 year shingle.
Id say it was rated longer.

I hope some old timer knows the answer to your question.
Great pics!!! Thank you!

That is an old, old, shingle. I have only ever ran into them under other layers of shingles. I would just be happy with insurance paying for a roof.

1 Like

The longest warranty I have seen on an organic shingle was 30 years,most were 15-25. Those are ancient