New terracotta tiles leaking

Hi - I’m a newbie.
We’ve just had a totally new roof put on our house and with the first heavy rain of the year the tiles began to leak. Our builder said that it must be a problem with the tiles and so he invited inspectors of the tiles to come and check. At the meeting they removed some of the tiles and indeed the underside of the tiles was damp. They accepted that seemed to be aproblem and said that this was completely natural process for the tiles to behave as such and that the rain of that instance was exceptionally heavy and caused them to leak. Now to me that’s totally unacceptabnle and we are insisting on new tiles. Our builder is in a very difficult position as it seems other houses that he built using the same tiles have also leaked.

The manufacturers have offered us a deal whereabouts they will seal the roof with resin and offer us the same 30 years guarantee.

Please has anyone else had a similar situation with their tiles? Or any helpful comments because we are in a real mess about this.

The bigger problem most likely lies with your underlayment. Tiles by nature allow some moisture through. The underlayment is there to ensure that this moisture does not make its way into your house.

The problem is not with the underlayment. Tiles “by nature” do not, and if installed correctly will not allow water into your house. There is a problem with the installation, either their gauging is out of wack and the headlap is inadequate, or a busted/cracked tile somewhere, that was missed and needs to be swapped out. Your tile roof is a lifelong product and will be fine. I would’nt go with resin although I am unfamiliar with it. You paid for a product and that is what you should get.
Chris, we been through this before here. Millions of tile roofs outside the US are installed every year without a waterproof underlayment and never leak. Don’t take it personally, just sayin’