New Business-any advice appreciated

Hey y’all. First off, thank you to all who contribute to this forum. I’ve read a ton and learned so much already. I’m from 32 and from Louisiana, if that matters.

I certainly don’t want to put forth an attitude of knowing everything there is to know when I actually know very little. But I’m very willing to learn. I’ve been in construction for quite a while but never roofing. I obviously want to be successful and I believe that the only way to do that is to learn from successful people.

I’m a firefighter full time which gives me plenty of time to learn and grow this business. My end goal is to work for myself full time. I just don’t want y’all thinking I’m trying to undercut the industry for a little extra pocket cash.

I’ve already obtained all necessary licenses with my local area and state. I’ve obtained GL and WC insurances. My LLC is set up, I have business cards, the bank acct., etc. I plan to only use certainteed shingles because I’m a sucker for an excellent product and they seem to be the best. Also, I’m not the kind of guy that half way does anything. I’m a bit of a perfectionist specifically on work that my name is on.

I have a good relationship with a great sub crew in my area that also carries all insurances. The lead man with them is very helpful and seems to want to teach. He says somebody taught him years ago so he feels like it’s only right to help others.

So, I recently sold my first roofing job. Very simple 38sq roof. Customer prefers to pay out of pocket and is ready to go ahead with a contract now. First problem I’m running into is that he has requested landmark resawn shake and literally nobody has them right now. I’m assuming because of all the storms. Anyway, soon as I can get that squared away, we will be replacing his roof.