Insurance roof supplement and invoice

Hi everybody. I know this sounds funny but I am new to public adjusting (at least as an owner of a company)… I just opened an adjusting company (in Illinois) lately as an addition to my roofing business. I got approved on my first claim and just finished the roof. It’s a standard hip roof, the insurance company (Farmers) gave me the first check prior to starting work and the depreciation is recoverable as well as code upgrades are. I just don’t know how to write up the supplement for ice and water shield and how this goes with the invoice… is it on the same sheet? I would appreciate if somebody could show me an example of such a supplement…

I had that problem until I bought the 2015 IRC and with good pics and the codes, you’ll make a lot more money and teach the insurance companies the codes. They have to honor their O&L coverage or they will be acting in “bad faith “ call the supervisor call the department of insurance if ya have to!! Get the book. There’s a lot of profit in knowing the codes.

It also helps to know what the insurance companies have to do by law. They’re highly governed and lose their share of suits. Some of them try to cheat policy holders quite often.

Thank you. I know the city code calls for an ice & water shield… I am just trying to find out how a supplement and invoice look like. I mean technical stuff; it would help me if I saw some supplement to copy the format of it… Just not sure how to prepare it:/

Just add a line item to your invoice under Building Code/Paid When Incurred for RFG IWS (Ice & water barrier) in sf. Add the code for ice and water shield. It may be necessary to get a letter/email from the code superintendent for that municipality saying it is code adopted and enforced. No insult intended but it sounds like you’re fairly new to contracting as well. This kind of thing should be rather automatic.