I can't find the source of the leak around this skylight

Hello great people of roofing,

I’ve been dealing with this leak for months and haven’t been able to fix it. I’m not an expert, just a new homeowner who should’ve been more careful. As you can see in the pictures, I recently had a repair job done where the contractor applied Firestone app 160 membrane all around the skylight and on the side of the damaged chimney and also some flashing cement in a few places around the rest of the roof. The leak seemed to have slowed down at first but the repair didn’t really fix anything as you can see the state of the ceiling of the bathroom where the skylight is installed. After the so called repair the contractor opened up a bit of the ceiling to see where the water might be coming from but he couldn’t really see much. He’s suggesting it’s coming from further away somewhere on the roof and trickling down through the skylight or that the skylight was installed wrong -against the pitch of the roof-. So he’s saying we need to apply membrane on the whole roof. (around 250sq foot, asking for 7500k, not sure if it’s ok to ask about pricing here)
Also do you think it might be the old chimney? He said water isn’t coming from there but I’m not sure I can trust him.
I would love to get an experts opinion on this. !
(upload://zaRkCuxuCEXaLBMlwrNJ7dXBMvc.jpeg) ![roof|279x500]

If you want to experiment, put a diverter (2"x2" L metal) above the skylight to shed the water away. If the skylight still leaks you know that water is coming from above the skylight under the membrane or through the skylight flashing. I can’t see the flashing used for the curb of the skylight which might be the source of the leak.

1 Like

Jackie,