Had an annoying salesman today

So today I had a guy from Erie Roofing come out again and ask me if I wanted a quote for a new roof. I generally just say no. However since I do plan on finally doing my roof this year I told him I planned on doing it this year. Mistake.

I told him I was going to do it myself. He asked if I ever did roofing before and I replied no (I have not). I said I have been researching for 3 years now gearing up for it.

I told him I wanted to tear off the shingles. He asked how many layers, I replied 1. He said I didn’t really need that. I replied it is better, I don’t want to go over the old shingles. He asked what I was going to use and I said GAF Architectural (Timberline). He then asked me if I wanted shingles to last until I sell the house or forever lol. I said the Timberline have a 50 year warranty. He said they don’t really they only have 25 years. Then he mentioned something about pro-rated. Then he went to tell me if tree sap falls on my roof it wouldn’t be covered. (I have no trees)

He started talking about fiberglass shingles that come in long pieces and they have a 45 year warranty.

He then told me I needed to be careful tearing of the roof because I could damage the sheathing. This is where it started getting interesting. Granted I’m not a roofer, so maybe I didn’t get what he was saying 100%.

I replied a sheet of plywood is only $20. He started laughing and told me sheathing is $300 a square. Long story short he was telling me that the plywood was not the sheathing and everything under the shingles was. I was getting irritated now. I was like so what else is there? You mean the trusses and everything? I invited him in to go into my attic so he could show me what the sheathing was, he declined.