Flat roof materials question

Hi everyone! I am currently getting estimates from roofers and I am not sure which material would be best for my residential flat roof in NYC.

A roofer came in today and said that there is no need for a new roof, an overlay would be fine. He suggests either Firestone SBS cold applied roofing or Gaco silicone roof coating.

The roof gets very little foot traffic. The only time anyone goes up there is to clean the gutters. It does get a lot of sun, though.

Which material would be better? Is there another material that is preferable? I am a newbie at this and any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Please Upload some pictures.

2 Likes

Gaco is a coating, not a roof. Firestone SBS is a great product, might be more than you need. Make sure it has at least 1/8" per ft slope with the SBS.

2 Likes

Hi MPA, since I’m a new user I am only allowed to upload one photo.

It’s already aluminum coated, nothing is going to stick to it.

1 Like

To properly install a new roof or add a layor to the existing all of the coping tiles will need to be removed and reinstalled. Looking at the picture and the height of the skylight curb, it looks you already have several layors of roofing. Going over that roof would likely not meet code or be a good long term investment.

1 Like

Thank you Dtris and MPA!

I agree with you MPA. We asked the roofer about tearing off the layers. I also want to see if there is any rotting wood that needs to be replaced. He kept saying that it wasn’t necessary and an overlay was fine.

In regards to roof replacement, he said that we would need to find an asbestos removal company. I guess I’m on the search for a good asbestos removal company as well.

Another contractor is coming on Wednesday to give an estimate. I will ask for more details about doing a proper roof replacement.

I think He is a bullshitter.
I am not buying the asbestos.
That is hot mopped modified bitumen.
Did he take a core sample?