Extra Trades in addition to roof, who is responsible?

This forum is great. Great responses on my roofing quality question. One more question since im new to the process and out of my league.

Who is responsible for dealing with the insurance company in securing the extra trades that are common with hail damage (screens, windows, stucco damage etc.)?

My roofer got the roof done but is fizzling out on working with the insurance company to get the extra trades approved. The owner of the company is starting to push the responsibility back to me.

Is this my job or the roofers? If the roofers job, i dont think i should pay for the roof until they finish the job with the insurance company. Thought that was part of the deal. What do you think?

Would it not depend on whether the contractor you hired is only a roofing company vs general contractor?

If they only have a roofing license and only deal in roofing then you probably should have someone else do the other work.

If the claim was already approved, which seems to be the case, did the adjuster not write a scope for the other damages? If so then use the money to get the other stuff done.

Depending on if the contract you signed includes them doing work other than the roof I would pay the roofer and get a release and you both move on.

1 Like