Does anyone do roof supplements for OSHA requirements?

Hello everyone,

I work as an independent supplementer with Xactimate. I have been doing this for a little over a month, and I am just curious what everyone else is supplementing for? I’ve had trouble with getting specific things out of insurance companies because it’s basically not expressed verbiage on Xactimate.

I have started adding either scaffolding or harnesses to each of my jobs to satisfy OSHA, specifically SCF RNTHLD, which is harness per day. I haven’t had much resistance on this, so I’m wondering how trivial to go with it.

OSHA requires eye protection for nail guns, snips and shingle removers. OSHA requires hearing protection while around generators or air compressors. OSHA requires electricians to look at wiring and remove fixtures/turn off breakers before painting. 40ft Ladder rental. Hardhats. The list goes on and on.

With a lot of carriers refusing to pay O&P, it has me looking around for ways to get more money for my clients. I would consider OSHA to be part of overhead, but if you’re not paying overhead then I need these line items.

Xactimate was made by insurance companies to solve this exact issue. If the insurance company is requiring me to use Xactimate’s pricing structure, what stops me from using it against them? I can write an estimate to be about $800/square for a steep 2 story arch, using only line items given to me on the scope, plus code requirements and OSHA requirements.

I haven’t submitted any estimates using anything other than harnesses, I’m just curious if anyone else does, or what you supplement for?

Most of the things you mentioned are standard equipment required for the job. Why not charge for nail guns and hammers?

1 Like

Nail guns are included in deprecation of tools. Same reason we use ARMV>, they own equipment and deprecation is included in ARMV> not 300.

Dude, I was being sarcastic.

2 Likes