Do I need a new roof?

Hi, I purchased my house 4 years ago. It was built in 1993 and the shingles show wear. Should I get a new roof? I am also considering doing it myself. While I have limited roofing experience I am very mechanically inclined and feel I could do this job. I just find it very hard to pay $6000+ for something I could do for $2000. I am thinking tear off as that seems to be the preferred method.

[URL=http://s14.photobucket.com/user/icemanxp300/media/roof_zpsanpefnga.jpg.html][/URL]

While that roof is starting to show a bit of age I don’t see any big red flags that it need to be replaced right away. And yes this roof is a good candidate for a diy.

While I see absolutely no critical “red tiles”, I would have to agree that this is a great opportunity for a DIY job. Also, would like to leave this link - http://rangerroofingok.com/average-cost-of-your-roof/ to give you some insight of potential replacing costs. Hope this helps.

Ok so I think I am going to tackle this job this year. I have been watching tons and tons of videos and lots of research over the last year. I estimate it will cost me roughly $2K in materials plus I will need to get a dumpster and buy/rent a nail gun compressor.

I still need to look at the garage a bit more but is there anything special about where the garage meets the house? Do the shingles simply go under the siding trim? I would imagine they likely installed some kind of trim there I could likely still use. I plan on redoing all the drip edge everywhere else but if there is something under the siding I might want to just go over that? I know they have some u-channel type trim directly above the shingles which I can push the new shingles under.

I can upload pictures again as it looks like they may have disappeared. House is 36’ on the eave and roughly 17’ for the rake, both sides. The garage is 12’ on the eave and roughly 14’ on the rake both sides. Roughly 15 square.