Debating roofing sales, need advice

I currently work in the oilfield, on a drilling rig, out in West Texas. Being away from my fiancé and kids is really wearing on me. I work 20 on and 10 off. I’ve been looking into a possible career change and roofing sales caught my attention. I have watched tons of YouTube videos and read as many threads as I can find. I’m from East Texas and there are a ton of roofing companies there that I can apply to. Before I do that and leave a decent pay check I wanted to see if anyone has any advice for me and if anyone can tell me the pro’s and con’s of getting into roofing sales as a career. I’m taking this very serious, also I have worked on commission before in new car sales. Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Roofing sales are all about the leads. If you have good quality leads you can make a lot of money. We have a lot of customers who use us to provide the leads they need to build their sales.

Thank you for the response. I plan on generating most of my own leads by knocking doors and networking as much as possible but I will keep that in mind as well.

Should get 45to 50 %… honest percent… of the profit…so if profit is 8 grand you get 4 company gets 4

We started a company and can’t find decent sales
Man…

40-50% of profit is what I’ve been hearing from most of the roofing salesmen I’ve talked to. I have decided to take the plunge, and go into roofing sales after the first of the year. My goal is to learn all that I can, make as much money as I can, and eventually start my own company. I’ll be doing my research to find a company with good training, and support.

Where did you start your company?

DFW market. Going really good. Been working in the field for years.

I can tell you the pro’s and cons. I’m getting ready to start my own roofing business

615-417-8624

I make plenty of money knocking doors. I never get leads.