Capping looks slightly darker but should be the same color

Hey guys. I’m an experienced installer but newish to business. I bought charcoal colors for both the 3 tab capping and laminate shingles. When I stepped down the 3 tab capping looks sort of darker than the shines. Now usually all material is ordered for me, and ao I thought charcoal 3 tabs were the same color as laminates. Ive installed capping that looked slightly different but because this is my own job I seem very worrisome, and this could be just my paranoia.
Home owner didnt say anything. Said it looked good. I undersold myself and over worked myself on this job, dont want to come back to rip my capping.
I’m assuming it must have come from different factories. Or maybe I did mess up

Here are the 2 shinngles
https://www.homedepot.ca/product/gaf-timberline-hd-charcoal-lifetime-architectural-roof-shingles-33-3-sq-ft-per-bundle-/1000731181

https://www.homedepot.com/p/GAF-Marquis-WeatherMax-Charcoal-3-Tab-Roofing-Shingles-33-3-sq-ft-per-Bundle-26-pieces-0304180/207038425

Why did you use 3 tab shingles for cap with the laminated shingles? That’s likely the issue although it is a minor one to my eyes. I don’t believe there would have been a problem had the proper ridge cap been used.

2 Likes

I’m pretty sure they deliberately make the colors slightly off just so people aren’t more inclined skip buying their expensive hip and ridge shingles.

5 Likes

We usually cut our capping up here in Canada. I underbid this and am working for nothing, the seal a ridge.was 45 so i went with the 3 tab

Dang I didnt know that

I guess you got what you paid for then. Lots of roofers here in the States do the same thing. It is a poor way of installing a roof. Might be time to reconsider how you’re bidding jobs. If my profits relied on me using cut tabs for cap vs dedicated ridge cap, I’m out of business fairly quick.

3 Likes

Sometimes even the precuts dont match well.
Dont think too much about it,appears to be a shed.