Asbestos HELP!

So I have a client that has a very old house. The insurance company (Columbia Lloyds w/ Orena Claims Services) has paid for fiber cement - shingle style R&R. My sales reps (both used to be siding salesmen) and my exterior subcontractor feel like it’s asbestos. Of course, Orena will not do a re-inspection without an estimate. As the estimator, I am nervous to write up an estimate since I am new to actually using Xactimate to write my estimate/invoices even though I’ve been working insurance estimates in Xactimate for years. To be straight to the point, I need to help figuring out exactly what line items I need to make sure I cover total scope and don’t short-change myself. Anyone have any suggestions? All help appreciated.

Thanks,

How could you do a quote knowing (guessing) the existing is asbestos and will need to mitigated? Have you had the material tested? What is the mitigation cost? If this isn’t understood by the insurance company I would suggest you walk from the job.

I would suggest you identify a good asbestos abatement contractor in your area. Have the owner contact them and test the material for asbestos. If it is asbestos containing material, have the owner submit the abatement proposal to his insurer. Once the asbestos is removed and certified gone, then it is a straightforward roof job for you.

I suggest that you don’t touch the asbestos or sign your name to any documents regarding it, because your GL almost certainly does not provide any coverage for you regarding asbestos.

I’m confused about your uncertainty to use Xactimate if you are familiar with it. The beauty of this type of unique roof claim is that if you can write it properly in Xactimate you are ahead of most adjusters who couldn’t even begin. If you can’t, stay off Xactimate and use another format to submit a proposal that works for your business.