Which flat roofing system?

WHich flat/flatish roofing system do all of you use on a regular basis and why do you use it?

I have usually used either smooth torch or granulated torch. I am not happy with what i am seeing on the
"end laps". End laps seem to be perfect up to the workmanship warranty(5 to 7 years) but have a possibility of failing before the 12 year manufacture warranty.
The last year or so, i have been installing both smooth and granulated if the homeowner can afford it.
Usually they cant.

The epdm roofs in my area seem to need a lot of patching to last a long time. but maybe it was cheap material or labor.

I want to learn a new system.

peal n stick.

gweedo.

If you don’t like end laps then use a cap sheet.

5 ply coal tar pitch…cause it keeps the babies off the roof.

Adheared EPDM would be my choice. I have been installing epdm for over 20 years with great results and with tape replacing glue a properly installed epdm roof can eaisly go past 20 yrs with minimal maintinance.
Tpo is exploding in the south and would also be a good system to learn.

Right. I have been sayin to myself that i was going to do that. Haven’t done it yet.

I have increased my end lap from 8 inches
to almost 2 feet and also making it a round edge and not a square.

I have a system that i would like to use that would completly eliminate the end lap but it would be technically against the rules.

TPO is fast becoming our membrane of choice. We still do alot of torch work, as well as self adhering modified.

smooth or granulated torch down and self adhered 3 ply.

EPDM is the most common way we do flat roofs, but have done them all at one time or another. Yes even coal tar.

quote]I have a system that i would like to use that would completely eliminate the end lap but it would be technically against the rules.

roof-lover - I’m curious what your system entails. Would you be willing to share?