Torching down over tar gravel roof that is smooth

I have just removed all the gravel from my tar and gravel flat roof with a spud bar. The roof has been hot mopped with 3 layers from what I was told by roof contractors. I called for a few estimates. Some of the roofing contractors said the roof is in very good shape. 2 of the contractors said they would like to torch down some bitumen right to the roof, meaning they will torch down right over the 3-ply fiberglass. both said this was the best way. Does this sound correct to you pro’s. This concerns me a bit. Not the torching , but torching right to the fiberglass. I never seen this done before. but then again Im an electrician and do very little with roofs. I always thought you would have to lay a new base fiberglass sheet that’s fastened to the roof with roofing screws and plates. I was also told not to worry about the torch down because the roof is 3 ply fiberglass already. You pro’s have any thoughts on this. I was going to cold process the roof myself, but for the prices I was given I know torching is better. I did require the contractor to post a person for fire watch for a least 4 hours after the main crew is gone. Because I might not be there when they leave the job site. It’s My house.

The prices were very good, I think. since I did all the gravel removal and made the surface very smooth and power washed it with soap and water.

1st estimate. 4,800 . 2nd estimate. 5,200

both estimates include the works, flashes etc. job time 2- to 3 days.

one roofing contractor said tear it up. Put some poly-iso down with edpm. For 23k Im not a big fan of edmp… Another wanted to install foam and keep the roof. For 17k and some change. Not a big fan of that either.

you can scratch it then torch down right over it.

RooferJim

Tar catches on fire like its nobodys business. Personaly I’d refuse to torch over it.