Those internet services?

anyone ever use service magic or any of those other internet services. do they work or is it a waste of money?

hey chris b.
I use bidclerk. I’m a straight roofing contractor nothing else. It’s great. No contracts. You can pay per month. I’ve had it up for 3 months $50.00. and have done two repairs and 1 roof and still have some potential leads for whole roof jobs .total 3,300 profit

Personally, I don’t like ServiceMagic or any other “pay for leads” type service.

Spend that same money on getting yourself top listed with a search engine & don’t compete with other companies that you had to pay for a lead that they also gave to two or three other companies.

But that’s MY opinion.

Do NOT use service magic or quality smith. It is such a rip-off. The only people using them are usually companies that can’t find work on their own. The put you against other Low-bidders and unless you are really low, you don’t get the job, while spend money and time.

But the worst thing about such services is that the HomeOwner does not give a crap! I mean all they do is call service magic, set up time convenient for them, and they might not even be there when you come. They did not have to do anything to get you out there so often the have complete lack of respect for your time, and never mind that you pay to meet them.

I believe that when you meet with a customer, they should have already done the homework, researched the product and know what they are looking for in a contractor and approximately how much they want to spend. For example if a customer wants to spend 5000 and most they can afford is a shingle roof, I will not waste my time trying to sell them a metal roof for 12000. They won’t buy it anyway.

One more thing about online leads: Sometimes you may end up at the same appointment with another contractor who also paid for the lead, at the same time - which shows that these leads companies screw up sometimes.