Starting a small business

I am turning 20 years old in a month, i am a student at the community college and wish to earn more money.

I am interested in starting a small roofing repair business. I know that not a lot of companies bother with doing repairs, but for a student that is exactly what i need. i can do minor repairs on my own no problem. I have tools, a ladder, experience, and a Dakota pick up with tool boxes.

My concerns is the temporary insurance problem and getting enough business to pay for it. Am i just wasting my time and money, or could this become a profitable establishment? I am interested in what others have to say please be completely open and honest and help with as much advice as possible. Thank you for your time and concern.

do you have roofing exp.?

if you work alone you will not need workmans comp.

your local insurance agents can give you quotes for general liability. i,m a fairly large (for my area) residential company. My liability runs about $8000 per year. deductables are i think like $2500.

If I am going to be openly honest, I would tell you to not waste your time with a roofing company. There is very little future for someone starting a roofing business regardless if it is repairs or installations.

If you are going into just repairs, you better have TONS of experience to bring to that repair. Or you will be fighting with the homeowner for a very long time. Remember, you repaired the roof, that roof is yours until they replace it.

Do you need, or have, a roofer licence to do little roof-repairs

Very good info for someone breaking into the business.
Words of wisdom…

I went to college to get away from roofing, I did the same as you plan.
It worked for me.
I am still a roofer, I always was…
It is a good way to pay the bills in the interim, don’t plan your life around it.
Education will get you much farther.
If you know enough to do repairs “on the side” you are valuable to a local roofer.