Starting a roofing company

I’ve been flat roofing for almost 4 years now and i’m interested in one day starting a company of my own. i know i don’t have enough experience now to run an entire company with multiple crews as well i do not have the money to do so. I do however have the experience to put a roof on myself. I would like to start doing repairs and side jobs on the side maybe on weekends or after work some days to get started and get some clients so that when i do one day open a real company i’m not starting from scratch. What i’m wondering is what i need to do on the business end of it. I mean roofing isn’t rocket science but iamb a roofer not a business man. Do i need licenses and insurance and what not (excluding a hot works permit). What if i only do residentials?? what is my best way to go about starting to do side jobs and repairs???

Dopey Roofing LLC

lol thats just the kind of message i want to portray in my advertising i’m a dopey roofer hehe

you live in Canadia, so i have no idea what kinds of local laws you would have there.

but i’ll tell you this… if you work for a roofing company, and you do “side jobs”, as far as i am concerned (and im sure your boss feels the same way) you are stealing.

stealing = fired.

and getting fired may just be the motivation you need to get your own roofing company started. I know its worked for a few of my former employees. lol

You would need business license,liablty insurance,and wcb if you have anyone workin for ya,and I agree with Agape,if you did all this workin for me you would be canned,why would I give work to my competion? :roll:

Agape - Why are side jobs stealing? And I’m not talking stealing leads from your boss.

im sorry dopey.
but im not shure about dopey,
bein the first word the customer heres.

sorry .

gweedo.