Should I trust this roofer?

ork suburban area and is it a good idea to replace shingles in the middle of the roof like that? I’m finding it hard to believe anything he’s telling me now because I feel he just agreed to the 6’ to persuade me to sign the contract and thought I wouldn’t notice.

What are you talking about?

sorry- I’m new at this and half the message didn’t get sent. I’ll try again- a roofer changed his proposal from 2.5 feet of ice and snow shield to 6’ to match what 2 other contractors had quoted. But they are only putting up 3’. He says they can take off the middle shingles and add 3 more feet.Is 2.5’ enough and is replacing a good option? I don’t know what to believe now.

Sounds like he broke your trust already. Maybe there was some mis-communication between the owner and his crew. He is willing to fix the ‘mistake’.

How did you find out there isn’t 6’ of I&W?

Its hard to give a good opinion on trusting someone on limited info. Doesn’t look good so far.

The Ice & water shield is supposed to extend 2’ beyond the interior wall line of your house, this generally takes a minimum of 4 1/2’.
Some homes require much more, I can’t think of a good reason to use just 2 1/2’, the rolls are 3’ wide…

More information is needed here.
Do you live in a cold climate?
Do you have icicles?
If so, how big are they?

Let’s start here.
The collective knowledge/experience here has the right answer for you.

I think he said 2.5’ up the roof because the rest of it is extending down behind the gutter? we live in suburbs of NYC and have had icicles some winters and water coming into the house through window frames. he said they can take off the shingles in the middle of the roof to add 3 more feet, but wouldn’t that cause more problems?

No, it will not cause more problems, it is an easy thing to do.

Is it needed?
That is the question.
If they are going to do this at no extra cost, have them do it.