Shingle Opinions

We are having our roof replaced. The shingles I have to choose from are:

GAF Timberline
IKO Cambridge
Owens Corning Oakridge
CetainTeed Landmark
Tamko Heritage

Does anyone have any recommendations or experience with these companies?

Thanks for your feedback.

Cetainteed or Owens Corning, the other 3 are not very good IMO.
IKO would be the best of the undesirable 3.

Malarkey if it is in your area.

Personally I would recommend the certainteed landmark, or landmark pro for a few bucks more. Gaf also not a bad shingle. Really up to you for looks/color. Not big fan of the look or serviceability of OC. Personally I would choose either certainteed, gaf, or Oc over tamco or IKO.

Out of curiosity what is it about GAF shingles that you feel is good?

Are you a salesman or an installer?

I am an installer by day and in office at night to review all contracts our sales guys sell before they get their commission paid. I occasionally sell something that is extremely complicated and l so high up and steep that a sales guy won’t go near. I have good experience in both sides.

Personally I am not overly fond of gaf but we do sell Some. Gaf is a lighter shingle than landmark and landmark pro-life which is great for the installer but probably not for the customer in the long run. We normally sell gaf as an alternate to certainteed for aesthetics when a customer wants a certain color ect.

Shingles used to be sold by weight, now days if you ask a rep the weight per sq it’s hard to get it out of them, they immediately try to change the topic of conversation.

Lately we have been seeking mainly landmark pro little heavier than landmark and a few bucks more so our guys are selling at same price.

There are better looking and performing shingles out there than IKO and tamco so we don’t even offer them unless that is specifically what a customer requests.