Sales in these hard times

Hello. I have been roofing for almost 25 years now. I been in sales for probably 7-8 now on commission basis, I like to think I do ok at sales, mostly because of my knowledge of what I am trying to sale, plus I still do the work, so sales guy that is actually the guy doing the work gives me a small advantage over other companies in the area , I am in Northern Va. outside DC and do some work in DC. We also do remodeling, from kitchens and bath too full additions, etc etc.

I guess the reason I am this this to maybe get a few pointers from you guys in sales, at this point I try to have under 1 hour response time from when the calls or emails come in, I carry a laptop and a printer in the work truck with a sprint card, and a camera/video cam, when I get to the home if they can not make it home to meet me, I take pictures of the problems if they cannot see them, and write up estimates on laptop and email them estimate and pics as quick as possible, usually within 1 hour from them calling in the first place. That alone has proven to be a huge selling technique. If they are home I print out the estimate and show them the pictures on the laptop for visual all within 15 minutes upon arriving to the home. These ways have proven to me to raise my percentages of sales. 

I do little things like talk to the owner about their house and play with the kids and animals in order to make them feel more comfortable with me as a person not a salesman or worker, I am not the clean cut suit wearing salesman cause I am also doing the work. Even when I know I can do the job that day or the next day, I sometimes make calls to someone else that works for me trying to tell them I have to get materials now and things like that to show the owner I am willing to pull strings to get them taken care of as fast as possible, and at the least I will tarp there roof right now so it will buy some time till I can get there and do the work or have some one else do it.