Sagging Roof on Shed Dormer

Hi All,

Our house (Built ~1929) passed inspection with a bit of sagging over a upstairs Shed Dormer. The ceiling appeared to be sagging before and after we purchased the house. The sagging (inside and out) hasn’t changed in the 18 months we have had the house, however one of the projects in our list was to pull down the plaster & lathe ceiling upstairs in the sagging area to see what is going on and hopefully be able to repair or at least stop it from getting worse for the long haul.

First, I was hoping that changing the plaster and lathe to Sheetrock may light the load pulling down on the Shed Dormer rafters. Will this help any?

Also, I am no expert, but I noticed several things that appear to be wrong, at least by todays standards (and possibly by 1929 standards!) It looks like the shed dormer rafters are 2x4, the collar ties are 2x4s, they aren’t spaced evenly in the dormer area (two are ~22" OC and one spacing is ~30" OC), also there is no ridge beam.

Wow, that is a lot of stuff. My question is:
Can I jack up the current rafters and collars, then sister everything with 2x6s? I can angle cut the rafter sisters and I can go back all the way to where the collar ties end for both? Will this be enough?

Since pictures are far better at explaining everything, I will attach a link to a few: members.cox.net/jr.due/shed_dormer_pics.htm

Thanks for the help guys!

lokks like there was a heavy ceiling fan rite in the middle.
just try to jack it up.
see what happens.

gweedo.

[quote=“gweedo”]lokks like there was a heavy ceiling fan rite in the middle.
just try to jack it up.
see what happens.

gweedo.[/quote]

Hi Gweedo,

the ceiling is plaster & lathe and that was very heavy obviously. However, we only had a small light fixture that weighed less than 5lbs.

thanks for the help,
JR

First, Attach a string underneath the first rafter pull it tight and attach it to the last rafter where you ended the plaster cut out.