Replace or Reuse old valley flashing On Home

I will be ripping the shingles off my home and was thinking of just covering the previous valley flashing with Ice And Water Shield. Would this work if I filled the current nail holes with roofing tar?

My second option was to tear out the old flashing and just put in a Ice And Water Shield than weave the shingles over the Ice And Water Shield in the valley.

In your experience what is the best way of doing this?

Thanks I am new to roofing.

-Roof Pitch 6/12, Architectural Shingles

Best practice is tear everything out. Apply ice and water directly to wood deck. The rest depends on your local codes. Here in pa only ice and water is required, but we always use a layor of 90# on top of the I&w for extra support and an extra layor of protection before installing the shingles. Depending where you are the code may require more or less.

Do not weave the shingles in the valley unless they are designed for that. Look up a California cut valley. Personally I either do calafornia cut for closed valleys in architectural shingles or open metal valleys for architectural or any other types of shingle.

The IRC code is a valley lining of 90# felt, valley metal or IWS period. I’ve never seen more required. I certainly would not reuse valley metal.

For 6/12 i use two layers of felt.
(One run folded in half)
And then 26 gauge steel rolled valley.
Closed valley.

Are open metal valleys common where you live?
Almost everyone here uses them, and for roof reason.they work very well in snowy areas.

I’m learning a lot from this thread. Will be taking note of these as well.

Patchap, I live in Northern Utah and most older homes seem to have closed valleys. Open valleys on newer homes here seem more common.