Realistic Income Potential for a Roof Salesman

Hello,
I am new to the industry but have over 4 years in auto sales. And I am an Army veteran. I started with a roofing company 2 days ago, and was told that i could make potentially 100k a year. I am an individual who does everything to the best extent possible… With that said i knocked doors all day today in a neighborhood with major wind damage and hail damage. I got 4 inspections set up for tomorrow. My sales manager said that at that rate i will make close to 4k before years end. My question is essentially how much could i expect to earn with this mindset and motivation. Because auto sales is no where close to this, And it just sounds “TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE” any input would be great! Thanks and God Bless.

Thank you for your Services you provided our Country.

We don’t have all the questions for the answer. $100,000 a year (based on 50 weeks in a year) equals $2,000 a week or $400 a day average based on a five day work week.

How much are you making for commission?
Percentage on Profit…
How much Profit does your company make?

Percentage of Gross…
How much are the average sales?

How much of your time do you need to spend at each house/ sale?
Storm damage so Adjusters are involved, do you meet them of someone else?
Do you do the Estimate or is it done by someone else? If you do and there is a mistake, Profit is low- or high do you get rewarded or penalized?

You can answer all these questions on your own, with the details provided by your employer. Good luck!

I believe it depends on two primary things. What type of commission program you’re on and, assuming you’re on a profit split program, how profitable the company is. You can have a great profit split set up but if the company is selling their insurance jobs at $200 per square, you’re not going to make much money.