Re-Roofing Questions

I’ve never had a roof replaced before, so I’m completely new to this. I’m located on Boston’s North Shore, Swampscott, to be precise, and I’ve had several roofers out to the house to give me estimates. After talking to them and looking over the estimates, I’ve got some questions:

1. How many nails per shingle is standard? I have one roofer swearing that 7 is plenty, and another touting the fact that he puts 12 nails in every shingle.

2. What weight felt? One estimate includes 20 lb felt. Another ($1,500 more) includes 30lb felt. What weight would you recommend, and is the added weight of 30 over 20 worth $1,500?

3. How high up the roofline should ice protection extend from the gutter, and are there significant differences in the different kind of protection laid down? My understanding is that the ice protection is essentially a rubber membrane laid down underneath the shingle. Is six feet up the roofline enough?

4. Do the advantages of having a large team come out and do the job in one day outweigh the disadvantages of less supervision and possibly diminished quality of work? I have one estimate from a well-established company that’s going to descend on the house with an army of 30 people and finish the job in a day (this is also the cheapest estimate). The other estimates I have are from roofers who will tackle the job with a half dozen guys and take 3 days. They caution that the more guys on a jobsite, the harder it is to supervise and the more likley you are to get shoddy work. Any thoughts on this? I have napping kids in the house, so my wife loves the idea of having only one day of disruption.