Question about Shingles

My roof was recently damaged by wind and needed to be re-shingled. On the paper I received from the insurance company it specified 30-year comp shingles. When the bundles of shingles arrived it included 12 bundles of 25 year shingles. When I asked the contractor why the 25-year shingles he said that they were needed for the “starter row” which required a thinner shingle “so the rest of the shingles will lay right”. I have no experience with roofing and just wonder if anyone can tell me if this is right, or is the contractor taking advantage of my ignorance?

Thanks in advance for your help.

The 25 year shingles are perfertly acceptable for starters. However 12 bundles sounds like a lot. I wonder if he plans on useing them for ridge caps?
If so, you should not allow him to. Insist that he use the manufacture’s hip & ridge shingles.

mikebgky,
I don’t think you have anything to worry about at all. 12 bundle of 25 year shingles is only 4 square. Unless you have a very, very small roof, this 4 square could not be used to cover any significant portion of your roof. It sounds like they will be used for starters (possibly caps as well) just as your contractor said.

OUTLAW ROOFER,
The contractor may also be planing on running soldier courses, this might explain the extra bundles.
As you said too, he may be using the 25 year shingles as caps. Could be a hip roof, that would be a lot of cap.

it sounds like you talked to one of the least experianced roofer in the bunch.
three tabs are used on demensional roffs all the time.
for cap shingles.
the rest, i dont know.

gweedo.

I use 3 tabs for starters all the time, and sometimes for caps on 30 years too.

we use 3 tabs for starters 100% of the time.