Owens Corning vs Timberline: which is better?

I’ve had each contractor pushing their own brand, one Owens Corning, the other Timberline. Each told me the other is an inferior product. Unfortunately I have no experience in which is better so I was wondering if you could help me out.

BTW the Owens Corning job is a couple grand cheaper in price than the Timberline job (and he seems to know what he’s doing)

It’s just one mans opinion but I think owens corning is a better shingle than GAF/ELK.

Many contractors here seem to disagree
or are really pushing GAF/ELK.

In summary. Better shingle, much lower price and you like the guy. It’s a no brainer.

But really i would rather have whoever actually installs the roof better(the man or woman actually putting the nails in) and there is no way for you to know that regardless of how much money they spend on their advertizing.

Ask each roofer exactly where he puts his nails in a shingle and see what they both say.

GAF is better. the problem with OC is there solid glue strip. it can trap water and cause it to wick in the vallys. I have heard many cases of this but we have not had it on our on OC installs.

ditto!!

spotted sealant strips,
very important indeed.

ditoo marshall’s ditto.

gweedo

1 is (couple grand cheaper) if it sounds to good to be true ,it is! I would have to ask myself why,when around here the O.C.s are a couple bucks a square more the Timberlines. Gaf/elk is a better product I.M.O…I would also get another price…3 is good,and also check refrences…

OC which product? Supreme (25yr 3-tab)
Oakridge (cheaper line of 30yr sold at Lowes)
Duration (more expensive than everything on the market with a plastic strip that will cause delamination issues over the next 5 years).

GAF/Elk Timberline all the way or Certainteed Landmark.

Never under any circumstances use an IKO or Atlas.

As of last month, OC changed their seal strip on Supreme’s. It looks very similar to a Certainteed seal strip only a little bit taller.