Newbie needs help choosing between 2 roofers

Hello everyone,
Sorry to barge in like this, I am a nurse and have no CLUE what I’m doing in hiring someone to do my roof so thought I’d ask the pros for advice!

We live in Michigan and got 2 estimates for our house. We’ve got a 2 story colonial with 30 squares and lots of peaks and valleys, 2 chimneys and 3 downspouts. We got two estimates:

Mr. Roof: 12k for the thunderguard system, “lifetime” warranty
Hansons: 10,8K for the 30 year “guarantee”

We are not fools and have a hard time believing any roof would actually last over 30 + years, and know that a warranty is really only as good as the company backing it. But seems to be a bit steep pricing. What do you think? We are kinda being pushed into making a decision in the next 2 days. Thanks for your help!

First off those are the highest priced companies in the state. Second if your in troy and have a 2 story home like you said that price is pretty high. To be honest I would get some different estimates. Those to companies are high pressure and they dont take no for an answer very well. Are you doing gutter with this quote? The 30 year warranty is on the shingles only not the labor. Second if the thunderguard shingle was so good everyone would use it across the country. They dont. I run into those to companies everyonce and a while. All i can say is well check out these links and maybe that will help your decision:

http://search.detroit.bbb.org/nis/newsearch2.asp?ID=1&strBCode=03320000&ComID=0332000000004385&ComName=Hanson%27s+Window+%26+Construction%2C+Inc%2E

http://search.detroit.bbb.org/nis/newsearch2.asp?ID=1&strBCode=03320000&ComID=0332000012000894&ComName=Mr%2E+Roof

You should not pressured into buying something in 2 days that is not a good practice of a company. If you have any questions or need anything email me at drag70buickgs@comcast.net

Hope this helps.

erkatie