New to sales

Good day Everyone

First off i would just like to say hello to everyone in the roofing.com community.

I have recently been employed as a salesmen for a roofing company that i have worked for the past few years and i was hoping someone could give me some tips on selling roofs,how to measure from the ground accurately, and also other general sales tips on selling

i’m new to selling roofs but have experience selling cars, any tips would help.

Regards

andrew

well ill give you one tip. you can measure from the ground easy by counting tabs. watch out for metrics though. You get a lot of credibility with the customer by going up on the roof, even though in a lot of cases you dont really have to.

I hate to say it but selling anything is just a game. If you were good at selling something else then you can sell roofing work. Selling is selling. What will hurt you to start with is having a limited understanding of roofing processes, how long they take, the pros and cons of each system, etc. I am not a salesman but my advice would be to educate yourself on roofing systems, first and foremost.

I don’t think there is an easy way out. if you are new you should walk every roof and measure as exact as possible. In time you start to see the same thing over and over. when you think you got it guess how big the house is, then measure it and when you get it right every time your the man.

thanks for the fast feed back

the problem with walking is most of the roofs in my area are not walkable 10/12 or worse

any tips of measuring ?

measure the length of the house and count the shingles up to ridge am sure one of the guys will be able to tell u how many course are usually in a meter or foot am unsure of shingle sizes as my trades slate then if there is like five course to the meter divide that by how many course there is in total then times that by the length should give un an actual size to work with