New to industry

Hi. I’m a 4 month veteran of the residential exterior remodeling industry (Minneapolis, MN). I’ve got great resources as is, but I’d prefer to keep them selling while I learn details. I’ve browsed the forum and noticed that there are some very knowledgable people contributing. I’d like to start by thanking each and every one of them for their time and expertise. I will be reading daily and contributing as much as I can, but I do have a few minor details that I’d like to get some perspectives on. I hate to take up any more of your time than I have to, but here they are:

1. 3-tab vs. dimensional on less than a 4/12.

Does the laminated part of the shingle make for slower/improper drainage? Why else would that be recommended?

1. Chimney flashing - why would riglet/reglet (not sure of the correct spelling) be required to flash a chimney vs. standard bent (110 degree?) sheetmetal?

2. Bidding - after “measuring” for surface squares, is adding 2-3 bundles of starter (20 yr 3-tab) and 5 bundles of ridge (Timbertex, for example) for a bid price standard? Or is the majority of the world bidding surface squares (due to customer anality)? (quantities are arbitrary) (i use “measuring” in quotes because of shortcuts (counting 3-tabs, fascia, etc))

Insurance will generally pay for surface area on removal, then add hip/ridge and starter for the installation. I believe that they should start with surface area, add waste, then hip/ridge and starter.

1. How low of a pitch will you go before you use rubber?

2. Who needs a tape measure to bid a roof with 3-tab?

3. Who also subs out siding?

Thanks for any response, I truly appreciate it.