New roof Questions

HI a homeowner? I am getting a new roof installed tear off and I want to check some things I am being told by the roofer. 1 I have a masonry chimney on the side of the house I was told it would be reflashed by going over the exsisting flashing to avoid opening a can of worms ie the old flashing having to be chipped out of the masonary. 2 Roof has history of bad ice dams so ice +water is going on entire roof (I know this is overkill and I am addressing bad ventilation with a powervent and soffitt vents) is there differnt grades of ice and water I am being told no but some manufacturers better than others. 3 will a 50f+ degree day be ok for sealing the ice and water and the shingle tabs? Thank you

hello im a florida roofer.
i wont be of much help.
be patient someone will help you.

gweedo.

As far as chimney flashing goes, I usually tear it out and re-do it. You just have to tear it out gingerly so as not to damage the chimney. I think flashing over top is fine, as long as he is using new counter flashing as well. If I were going to do that I would cut back existing counter flashing and re-flash it one mortar joint above.
I would not put water and ice shield on the whole roof unless it is less than a 4-12 pitch. While I have yet to do a tearoff of water and ice I have heard many stories of its difficulty from other roofers. You may be creating a nightmare for the next homeowner who must re-roof the house, or yourself if you still own it in 25 or 30 years. I would address the ventilation problem. That is a true fix of your ice dam problem.

and yes 50 degrees is fine. So is 20, as long as the deck is dry. I have seen and lain many roofs in the dead of winter that don’t seal up until we get a warm day. Only risk is if you get big winds before they seal, you could get blowoffs. I’ve never had a problem.