Need Roof Repair Advice

I just baught a home in Jan 08… The roof came up on my home inspection as shingles loose, the ones that came off during my purchase were repaired by the seller, however since them more have came off due to the wind (I think they were not properly) secured when roof done… The house was built in 1985 and my father suggested I will probably eventually need a new roof, however I am unsure whether this is original roof or a second roof…Cost is definately a factor, and I dont want to let the roof go to long in case the few more that have came off will cause leaks…

Some advice is appreciated, I am new to this.
:mrgreen:

how old did they say the roof was in the disclosure report when you bought the house? my guess is that it is original and is ready to be replaced. no point in repairing a 23 year old roof.

Did you have an inspector? DId he miss something?
How do you define “loose shingles” ? (pertaining to compostion shingles)

Not much value in repairing a 23 yr. old roof

[size=75]Did you have an inspector? DId he miss something?
How do you define “loose shingles” ? (pertaining to compostion shingles)

Not much value in repairing a 23 yr. old roof[/size]

****** Inspector didnt miss anything, I new the shingles weren’t properly installed and we asked for the ones missing to be repaired, however more have came off… It was part of settlement agreement.*****

[size=75]how old did they say the roof was in the disclosure report when you bought the house? my guess is that it is original and is ready to be replaced. no point in repairing a 23 year old roof. [/size]

****** Honestly, I don’t remember if it was listed, think it was the generic, everything to their knowledge okay, b/c the shingles didnt come off until the walk thru… The inspector originally said he thought it was original until he went to attic then he mentioned may be 2nd roof… It doent look like its 23 years old, but what do I know

How much do new roof cost roughly $ range?? ******