Need new roof in Alaska

Hello from the great north! -Anchorage, Alaska-

Am just now starting off on the quest of having my roof re-done. It’s at the 30 year mark (and probably only a 20 year roof to start with, lol, no leaks… but needs to be redone!!) and so far have called two contractors… more to follow.
First one says: $2.60 a square foot (2000 sq ft) which “covers everything” (… sight unseen sure makes me wonder!!)
Second one is going to have someone come over before estimate.
Both of these contractors have been doing business here in AK for like 20-30 years. (according to their add in yellow pages…)
Naturally there is much more to discuss with these guys (and the others that I plan to call and get estimates from) as I am just getting started here.
Just wondering if any of you pros know or can recommend anyone here in Anchorage??
No biggy… but just thought I’d ask.
Am enjoying this site… have built a couple of small cabins up here many years ago… but am too damn old (lazy…) to do my roof so need to hire someone. Just don’t know of who to hire… and don’t have anyone to give me that recommendation that I seek…

So you’ve gotten two estimates already and there are how many more to come?

Best advice I can give you is to get one more and decide which one you like best out of the three. Picking the middle contractor is what I see a lot of home owners doing these days. Their mentality may be they don’t want to go with the low bidder and get a bad roof and they don’t want to go with the high bidder and get ripped off.

The only other advice I can offer you at this time is to try to find a owner operator roofing contractor. More than likely if the owner is on the roof the whole time and if he’s licensed you should get a pretty good roof out of the deal, but this is not always the case.

You could get a roofer is comes in low who’s got no overhead who’s a super good roofer or you could get a really lousy roofing crew from one of the high bidders.