My first roof

Hey guys,

New to the board and I’m about to take on my first roof. We are currently buying a home that was built in 1985. There are currently no leaks in the roof however it is over 20 years old. I figured we might as well do it now. Just a couple questions. This is my first attempt at doing a roofing job and will probably be my last for about 25 - 30 years. So here’s my question. I want to use a pneumatic roofing gun but I don’t really want to spend 400 bucks on it. I saw some cheaper one’s on ebay for around 100 bucks and was wondering if these would be okay for a one time job? I know they are ridiculously cheap but I only need it to hold up for the one job (approx. 3-4 weeks.) Would they be okay? (Construction Zone Coil Roofing Nailer, Air Luxe, Contractor) Those are the brands I saw on ebay for around 100 bucks. Would one of these be okay for just one job? Also starting supplies and any other general advice would be greatly appreciated. By the way, this is going to be a reshingle only, not tearing up the old shingles. Thanks guys.

Find a used Hitachi NV45AB nailer on Ebay. Use it, and then when you are done re-sell it on Ebay.

bostich rn46. you should be able to get a used one on ebay. very user freindly, light and reliable.

Instead of buying a cheap air nailer,why not buy a reconditioned Bostich or the likes for 30-$40 more.Cheap air nailers shoot crooked nails,misfire and have a hard time shooting in the longer nails,which are required on a layover.IMO if you put a roof over an old roof,the lifespan of the new roof is jeopardized.I know it is done all the time,but to me its like putting perfume on a pig.You said the roofs not leaking now,so why not save up for a full re-roof.It makes for a way better job,and at the same time you can check the deck and install all new underlayment.Whatever route you decide to take,make sure you have adequate ventilation.

Hand nail like real roofer !!!