Knocking Doors

I have never done it before and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions on the best approach. I dont wont to rely on leads anymore and would like to start generating my own.

Hi Ace, It’s confuses me that you would sooner want to knock on doors than have leads, but to each his own.

In my experience, I would recommend putting together some door knockers. Have some flyers printed up with your company name and specialty printed on them, punch out a hole at the top and start hanging them on doors where the home-owners are not home.

If someone does answer the door, introduce yourself politely and let them know that you are working in the area. Normally you will know within the first few seconds if the prospect is intrigued. Ask some qualifying questions. Have you put any thought into your roof? Have you had anyone look at your roof recently? just remember, even though you are giving free estimates, someone is still paying for your time, and typically that would be you. So keep that in mind the next time you spend 3 hours with joe tire-kicker.

Ultimately what you want to achieve is a quote on the job. Regardless of weather they go with you or not, they will have a something physical to look at in addition to the flyer.

Hope this helps!

Thanks BC
I would love to have stacks of leads all the time but we know that wont happen. I would like to start trainning myself to generate sales in other ways. If I can get good at this it really could make a difference to my bottom line. I have only been in roofing for about 6 years and I mostly have been in distribution or production so I am looking to pick up sales tips.

Ace, are you working storm damage areas? There are a ton of options to generate leads other than door knocking. If you are working storms a map of the storm area is critical. You can contact me off this list to discuss.