Insurance not paying for ridge?

I have been doing estimates for 5 years now and this year have run into insurance companies not paying for ridge shingles. I have never seen it till this year.
Has anyone else run across this?

Are u talking 3 tab capping or the ridge designed for the shingle? Like shadow ridge? If so they will not pay for upgrades. Never will either your lucky to get the insurance company to pay for anything.

just a 3tab cap. They are now saying that we can use the shingles from the waste and put them as ridge.

I have never come across this until this year.

You’ve apparently either been extremely lucky or not done a ton of insurance work. Or perhaps it is specific to your area. For quite some time, insurance adjusters have been bundling the hip & ridge cap into the waste factor. Which is generally a bunch of crap. This means you have to fight for a higher waste factor on most roofs of any complexity. We’ve had quite a bit of success using an Excel spread sheet I put together that automatically calculates the waste amount for hip & ridge cap, starter and the shingles wasted on the valley under layer once you enter the numbers for roof area, hip and ridge length, perimeter and valley length. We simply show them the hard math and argue from there.

They’ve also, for the most part, quit applying waste factor to the on number for the steep and high charges. Some are not wanting to pay for vents and pipe jacks.

Thanks for the response. I guess I have been lucky. Been dealing with insurance companies for about 5 years and have never run across this before.

I am thinking of asking them to put in writing that they do not pay for installing ridge shingles and that we cannot install until we are paid.
Probably wont get me very far but i would like to see what the response is.