Input needed for new roofing salesman PlEASE HELP!dishtech

Currently i am a dishnetwork field tech.I install cable and dishes anywhere i can make them work.Thinking about doing some roofing sales. What kind of money should i be payed? More than anything i am looking for some tips on selling a roof and any other great information from the bestsalesman that have the experience that i hope to have one day.I am excited to start this learning process and thank anyone for any feedback.
Thanks again,
dishguy

First off the economy is not good for it right now with someone with ZERO exp. Second it takes years to get good at it. If you are short you eat the difference. Do you know anything about roofing? Do you know how to measure a roof correctly? Have you had any sales training? Why on earth do you want to do this?

Hi,

Where are you located?

Start reading books on sales.

Knowing about roofing is a plus but not necessary.

Dishguy,

It seems that you have two hurdles to cross, sales and then roofing. I think the most important one is learning to sell and take care of your customers. Sales is a simple but difficult game and it takes a knowledge of how to use your basic personality type to master the biz. Contrary to what many people think, the most important thing in sales is listening to the customer and then communicating how you can provide the solution they are looking for. It is not based on talking talking and more talking. Beyond that it requires attention to detail, perseverance, the ability to take rejection and a basic desire to succeed. You have to convince the customer that you are their best option, then let them make the choice.