In need of sage advice

Forgive me guys as I am new to the forums here, and this is likely to result in a wall’o text.

Me and my friend who is currently a roofer (I will be starting with him working for a company where I live ) have decided we want to start our own roofing business. Now I know next to nothing about roofing but he has alot of experience, on the other hand Im experienced with advertising and business etc… Hopefully I will pick up on how to tear off and re-roof fairly quickly.

At any rate, im researching the business and trying to get all my ducks in a row in so that we are actually ready when we decide to spread our wings. So I have a few questions that hopefully some of you will be so kind to answer for me. Please keep in mind Im a noob to the business and probably wont understand the lingo right away. Anyway here we go.

A. What’s the quickest way to break into the business? Sub contracting or hitting the streets with flyers and maybe a phone book add.

B. If it is sub contracting how does one go about getting the contracts from a larger contractor?

C. What seems to work the best for everyone as far as advertising? Ive already designed us a website for the internet and know how to take advantage of that path. But what seems to work the best for you guys?

D. Where do you go to gain a business license? Insurance?

E. We are talking about doing roofing, insulation and gutter installation as well. Is it advisable to have a diverse business like that?

F. Will we be able to use our business name and credit in order to obtain a loan for starting equipment? Or will this loan be based off of our personal credit scores?

G. Should we shoot for quality or quantity at first? I know having brand recognition is the best selling tool any business can have, yet at first we are going to need to get alot of contracts lined up just to get off our feet.