I am the glue

To all those that responded to when I asked for suggestions on what I should do with my fibromyalgia, thank you. Here’s a story.

After months of a deep self inventory this year, I’ve tried to figure out what I am and where I’m going. It never dawned on me to figure out who I am. Probably because I thought I knew myself so well.

I am a people pleaser with self disgust when I don’t perform to the high standards I set. I am a good roofer that always does his best, though always comes up short by way of ignorance though I try to study my craft hard and I believe myself to be intelligent. I am a young man coming up in the world with what I believe to be an honest and respectable living that one can be proud of.

If I’m your friend, I’d go to the grave instead of you. If you’re unfriendly, I’ll watch you with a skeptical eye from afar. If you’re aggressive towards me, I will go the distance to thwart you rather than be thwarted.

As a roofer, Im far more than a roofer. I make promises. I risk everything to make sure my promises come to fruition. I make sure licenses and insurances are up to date and paid. I make sure the taxes are up to date and paid. I make sure the guys are happy and paid on time. I make sure the job gets finished as scheduled to the best of my capabilities. I make sure the permit is pulled, the contract is in order, the checkbook is balanced, the advertising is paying dividends, the customer is happy, the neighbor is happy, the job is clean, the roof is tight, the specs are on, the calls are answered, the quotes are quoted, hiring, firing… and then, I come home to my wife and kids…

Also, in the 8 hours I spend on the roof, I’m the one that makes sure people aren’t bumping into eachother and aggravated while ripping the roof, lumping shingles, putting them on, cleaning them up, checking others work, helping them to be more efficient, watching that product isnt wasted…