Hail Damage Sales Inquiry?

I followed a storm to Baton Rouge where there are many claims/jobs. I am new to roofing sales and left KY and my family in the hopes of much money. The company I am employed with insists on me pitching to the customer that we do NOT give estimates, Just have them sign a contract, meet the adjuster and hope that they come in above $200 a sq. if they dont then file a supplement and wait to turn the job into production until the supplement covers at least $200 a square.
This is the typical sales scenario:
(homeowner)“My insurance company told me to get some estimates? (me)Sir, we don’t give estimates, we just work for the amount of your deductible…However, we will give you $500 for a sign allowance in your front yard which will cover your deductible in most cases.”
(hommeowner)oh! okay where do i sign?"

The problem I have is that the majority of settlements are 130-160 a square (i’m including everything when i say a square)…Being that this is not sufficient to cover our costs we have to file supplements and keep the customer on hold till the additional money is met, if it ever is. Obviously this creates a problem between me and the homeowner. There question is always “I thought you didnt need an estimate?” “Why then cant you install our roof with what the insurance company gave you?”

My question is, being that I am new to the industry of storm/hail sales, is it normal for storm chasing roofing companies to tell the customer there are no estimates given? Or, do most storm roofing companies give an estimate and structure there business differently within their sales department?

I am considering looking for a new employer, I have 70+ deals in my pipeline but I don’t feel confident in the way the transaction is being conducted.

Any direction/thoughts?

Thank you,
Joe

LOL…sounds like you are a CONtracting co.,lol…

Is this not the norm in the industry? Where is the con part of it?Please explain your reply.

Joe