Finding a roofing job that pays what you are worth

I just moved to NC from TN. Left a job paying 16.00 an hour to here. Found a job in NC and getting paid 9.75 an hour. What is up with NC? Roofing jobs don’t pay nothing here. Anyone know of any jobs in Asheville that pay you what your worth?

Hindsite 20/20.

9.75 an hour, I pay my ground men 10.00 an hour.

Oh moderator,Oh moderator…

We need a new section for the forum, “The Worst Roofing Companies you have worked for”.

Honestly, I would just get a mirrow and sit on the back door steps and watch myself starve to death before I would roof for 9.75 an hour. However I have taken other jobs for less to put groceries on the table, but it won’t be roofing.

I hear it every day, I have too much experience, we can’t hire you . WE are looking for temporaries, so do as I do and sell your own jobs, or find another profession, I’m too old to start over, people knock on my door and ask if I’ll roof their house.If I was a roofer, I wouldn’t walk up the ladder for 9.75 an hour.Is that cash or are they taking out taxes.

Wow thats rough. I would not lay a shingle for that amount of money. The lowest I pay a guy is 10 dollars and thats the ground guy who knows nothing but how to put stuff in the dumpster. The highest guy on payroll is at 27. Its amazing how prices can change where you live. If any of you guys ever watch and of the flip that house or househunter shows or anything its almost ridiculous to see the difference in prices between two areas. A house here thats 300000 would be 150000 in texas but around a million in cali. I guess that must be the price of living in your area.