Estimating

Anyone use estimating software?

Hi,

We use Contracker.

Paper and a pencil here

paper, pencil, calculator, digital camera and some satellite imagery to help prequalify.

Hi Marshalls Exteriors,

We will are going to use their service soon.

we deal with insurance companies on 95% or more of our jobs, so we use Xactimate.

for roofing software try

acculynx.com

it is a complete solution built for roofers.

i have been using google earth to get a better of idea of what I am going to look at, and also to scope out the neighborhood, maybe geberate a few neighbor’s names etc. Always nice to drop a few names of neighbors
if you happen to know mthem, or have worked for them.

I have been using spread sheets since 1984,
apple had a program called visicalc…
It’s hard to get away from that format after 25 years
of doing paper work. I use quick books, and once I enter in a specification, generating a proposal, and work order and purchase order and invoice are simple.

just started using an excell spread sheet on a laptop. It is all time and materials…not square footage. We sat down and figured everything out down to the hour. overhead, labor and all. put in our profit % and there it is. I have tested it back against what i think i would sell by according to square footage and it was pretty close. But how can you sell by square footage with one house being a straight ranch…and the next one being a hip ranch. you have 5 times as much cap (just a for instance). I am actually training my first ever salesman besides me. Its working pretty good so far.

every item is listed…
footage of capped ridge
fotage of ridge vent w caps/ spec 3 or 4 different manufacturers
I was having problems with purchase orders that shipped 3 tab shingles for caps…not all 3 tabs a useable
for caps on some special order cors on 40 year or 50.
so I break down every detail.