Do it yourselfer questions?

Hi, I am a teacher (have 3 weeks to do this starting Aug 1) who lives in western Montana and live in a ranch style house that is 40 years old. It has the original 3 tab shingles on it now. I want to rip it off and re shingle it myself. I callled 8 roofers, 5 called me back and looked at it, 3 actually gave me a bid. The price $5500- $6100 was more then I can afford. My house needs 26 squares, I got a price of $300 for big dumpster and $1500-1600 for 30 year elk shingles, nails, felt from local lumber yard. So I want to tackle this myself and save some and get it done. I am not a complete idiot (my dad was a builder) but have never roofed before. I went to Amazon and got this list of books and was wondering if any would be good for me-

Roofing with Asphalt Shingles (For Pros by Pros) by Mike Guertin

Roofing, Flashing and Waterproofing (Best of Fine Homebuilding) by Fine Homebuilding Editors

The Complete Guide to Roofing & Siding: Install, Finish, Repair, Maintain (Black & Decker) by Bryan Trandem

Roofing The Right Way by Steven Bol

Complete Roofing Handbook (Audel) by James E. Brumbaugh

ROOFING DVD ShinglePro: How To Shingle Like a Pro. Builders - Roofers - Do-it-yourselfers. Easy Installation Tips and Time saving techniques. HOW TO ROOF DVD

My plans are to rip it all off and I know I will need to replace some plywood in back because facia was to high and flattened it out and water and ice sat there rotting plywood. On the gables I have metal that is old kind of a channel type the shingles go in, and that should be replaced.